The Awards recognise and honour Medicare Champions - outstanding individuals and practices that provide exceptional care, embrace innovation, and work together to improve the health of their community.
First and foremost, Medicare Champions are individuals and practices that go above and beyond to benefit patients. 



8 March 2024

Nominations due
5:30pm AEST
30 June 2024

Successful finalists notified
Mid-August 2024

Stronger Medicare Awards Ceremony
November 2024


Primary care is a broad sector, with many individuals, teams, practices and health centres all making significant contributions to the health of Australians, while championing patient benefit. 

So, eligibility for the Stronger Medicare Awards is also broad and includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

  • Individual health professionals working in or across primary care services. 
  • Multi-disciplinary teams working in or across primary care services. 
  • Individuals without professional healthcare qualifications, that work for primary care services and help patients access care. 
  • Primary care practices or health centres. 


Nomination requirements, including all individuals in a team or practice/health centre:

  • must be 18 years or older as of 8 March 2024 
  • must agree to be nominated  
  • if the nominee is a healthcare professional, they must have a current registration
  • meet the assessment criteria  
  • not be subject to a professional practice notification, restriction/limitation to practice, under investigation, disciplinary process or undergoing performance management 
  • not be subject to any current criminal investigations. 

Nominees do not need to be an Australian citizen or permanent resident. 

(NOTE – the application form will provide tick boxes to confirm the above – further checking will be undertaken by the assessment panel, if required) 


All nominations must address at least two of the following, regarding actions and contributions over the past 12 months

  • significant contribution to providing patient centred primary health services to the community   
  • delivering better patient care through new and innovative ideas  
  • demonstrated commitment to building and promoting multidisciplinary care teams, particularly in regional, rural and remote areas  
  • building collaborative patient care teams 
  • working with diverse communities or vulnerable patients to navigate and provide access to healthcare 
  • demonstrated commitment to providing quality health care in rural and regional areas  
  • outstanding contribution to improving primary health care to their community.  

In the nomination process you will need to select which two criteria you are addressing. 


All nominations need to include: 

  • full personal details of the nominee, including the full name and work or home address. (All information provided is treated as confidential)  
  • full position details (if applicable) are required so that the Expert Panel can assess the nomination against the assessment criteria. 
  • no more than 500-word nomination statement. The nomination statement must include specific information in response to the assessment criteria selected and clearly demonstrate achievements. It should not be assumed that the panel has a detailed technical knowledge of the primary care role or location in which the nominee works. 
  • two referee statements no longer than 300 words supporting the nomination 
  • referees contact details.  


To be considered by the panel all nominations, including those for team or practice/centres, must be accompanied by a minimum of two referee statements which highlight the contribution of the nomination. 

 Referee statements should support: 

  • criteria addressed in nomination 
  • demonstrate the contribution made over and above what might be reasonably expected by professional standards and paid employment. 

Referees can include but are not limited to clients, managers/supervisors, and stakeholders. Patient referees and testimonials are strongly encouraged. 

Referee statements should be limited to a maximum of 300 words


Nomination statements addressing the selection criteria must be submitted via the portal by 5.30pm (AEST) 30 June 2024.  

 Nomination statements must be no longer than 500 words. 


Click the button below
to start the submission.


Create a new account.
(or log in with your account)


Go to 'Nominee details'
to provide nominee details.


Go to 'Submission' tab to
start your nomination.


Follow the menu on the left hand side for each process.


Save your draft,
once done, press submit.


Nominations will first be considered by a Nomination Committee of Department of Health and Aged Care officials. They will assess against the eligibility, nomination requirements and assessment criteria.  

An Expert Panel will assess the nominations and provide recommendations to the Minister.   

The Expert Panel's recommendations will be final with no correspondence being entered into or feedback given. 

The Minister will announce the winners at an awards ceremony in Canberra in November 2024. 


 All finalists will receive a framed certificate. Award recipients will receive a trophy, with one trophy presented on behalf of a team (if applicable).  

Awards will be presented at the ceremony in Canberra in November 2024. 

Individual finalists, or up to two representatives from team finalists, will be provided economy travel to Canberra and accommodation arranged and paid for by the Department of Health and Aged Care to attend the Awards Ceremony.